Friday, October 17, 2008

And if you like chick-lit AND historical...

Lauren Durough is a college student longing to break free of family expectations when she stumbles into a project for eighty year old Abigail Boyles—transcribing the journals of Mercy Hayworth, a seventeenth-century victim of the Massachusetts witch trials. Almost immediately, Lauren finds herself drawn to this girl who lived and died four centuries ago. The strength of her affinity with Mercy forces Lauren to take a startling new look at her own life, including her relationships with the mysterious Abigail, her college roommate, and a young man named Raul. But on the way to discovering the candid truth, Lauren must earnestly ask if she is playing the role of helpless defendant or the misguided judge? Can she break free from her own perceptions and recognize who she really is?

In our high-pressure, success-oriented culture, readers will identify with Lauren’s struggle to forge her own identity separate from the plan her family designed for her. Offering intrigue, romance, and heartbreaking drama, this contemporary novel with a historical twist conveys the intense beauty that emerges when we see how our stories affect the lives of others.

From early school-day projects to becoming editor of a local newspaper in Minnesota, Susan Meissner’s love for writing has been apparent her entire life. The Shape of Mercy is her latest novel in a string of books that delve into the deeper issues of life. She is the author of nine novels and lives with her family in San Diego, California. Find out more about her at

Okay, so I don't think the author would bill this as chick-lit in any way, shape or form, HOWEVER, it has a chickie feel with first person narrative and a twenty-year old single girl trying to find her way in the world.

This was a wonderful, haunting read (no pun intended). It frustrated me when my sister wanted to sleep and I wanted to know what was up with Mercy. It mocked me from the seat pocket when Charming wanted to play and eat and I wanted to know how Raul would respond. And it kept me up nights when I was exhausted and should have been sleeping. It tiptoed through my dreams (together with Heroes) and made them disturbing. All those qualities combine to make me highly recommend this book as a you-can't-put-it-down-even-when-you-have-to.

And, my apologies for posting little but book reviews this week. Between travel and debilitating discouragement (that I think is now passed) I have chosen the "don't say anything at all" route of the "if you can't say anything nice" phrase. I shall soon remedy that.

Much love, bloggies.

1 comment:

Susan Meissner said...

Hey, thanks for the review! If you're interested, I created a character blog for this book:
Should be fun.
And again, my thanks for your blog post. Made me smile.